In the far North-East of the Ile de Ré, discover the unusual village of Les Portes-en-Ré
This islet was once joined to the Ile d’Ars by clay and sand. Now, it is the site of the village that we know today, though the surrounding protected natural habitat is still totally unspoilt. Salt production is in the DNA of Les Portes-en-Ré locals. In the 17th century, boats loaded with salt left from the old harbour. The salt was stored in the old hangar covered with black shingles. As sailing technology advanced, a lighthouse was constructed in the forest of Trousse-Chemise in 1870. The Maison de la Dune used to be the home of the forest worker in charge of planting in Le Lizay forest, and the little old station tells of the slow steam railway that once linked the villages to the island entrance. Les Portes-en-Ré was the final stop! And the many wells, recently restored, are another testament to the village's history.