Historic site and monument at Loix

  • The church of Sainte-Catherine, nestled in its linden case and in the heart of the village, its glowing soil is the happiness of the players of balls.

    Mentioned for the first time in the 14th century, the church of Sainte-Catherine will be enlarged and embellished throughout the XVIIth century. In 1827, a part of the framework collapsed and the steeple was no longer plumb. Brossard, a Rochae architect, undertook the rebuilding and enlargement of the church in 1830 and built the new monument perpendicularly to the axis of the old building. In 1905, at the separation of the Churches and the State, the pediment of Sainte-Catherine church was engraved with the Republican motto "Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité", then in 1980 and 1984 the church was renovated and adorned with new Stained glass windows created by Aramis Pentecost, master glassmaker.
  • All year